Preliminaries

3 05 2009

Well, I’m not really sure where to start.  If you’ve read the introduction page, you know a little bit of background about what’s going on, and now I wanted to replace my “Testing 1-2-3” post with something a little more meaningful.  Right now there are about 12 days until I leave.  Today is Sunday; the coming Saturday is my graduation, and the Friday after that I leave at 7:00 a.m.  Oh, and we have a 10-day revival starting the day before graduation (I’m church pianist), and the night before that is a graduation dinner for Spanish majors at my professor’s home, and on Tuesday I am volunteering to chaperone a group of Hispanic elementary children at the zoo.  Tuesday night I have to present my final project for a translation class, and tomorrow, Monday, I have a final exam.

I’m trying to make a list of things that I need to get done before leaving.  It runs like this (right now it’s just mental) – Get vaccinations and yellow fever certificate.  Get 2 copies of a “passport-like” photo for visa application(s).  Fine-tune my budget so I know how much spending money I have.  Turn in an 8-10 page paper by Wednesday on “Prospective Research for Travel to Bolivia.”  Talk to a lady from Bolivia that I have some contact with.  Send a letter to some missionaries in Sucre that I want to see.  Make sure that my bill-paying is all sufficiently automated that I don’t get behind.  Hopefully finish another final project that a teacher was gracious enough to offer me an extension on (though I admit I don’t deserve it).  Plant a hibiscus that I bought 2-3 weeks ago.  Try to get my African violets set up so my granny can keep them alive while I’m gone.  Try to stabilize some other plants that have been neglected so long they’re hovering between life and death.  One of my violets

Make sure I leave enough dog food and cat food, and set aquarium and plant lights on timers, and buy some more fish food, and get two cats fixed so I don’t come back to kittens.  Make sure that my AssistAmerica insurance is really what I need and that it remains valid for the full year term even though I’m graduating.

Somewhere in there, I’ll need to pack.  I gave up quite a while back on sending out resumes and trying to line up a job to come back to.  Did I mention I’ve never flown before?  I’m starting to feel a little overwhelmed.  Just a little.

But today being Sunday and a “breather,” I thought I’d try to type this out and make sure I could do what I wanted with this site.  Dinner is cooked, dishes are done, and I’m going to take a nap.

(P.S. The picture’s not new; I just want to make sure I can do this.)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

